Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Pacemaker Publication Slide and Image Collection
RG 30.02.04
Collection Dates: 1989-
8.0 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The collection was transferred to the University Archives as Accession 2010-18 from the Office of Health Sciences Relations.

Photographs: Entire collection

Pacemaker cover, 1992
Pacemaker cover

Scope and Contents

The collection consists of slides, photographs, negatives and other materials used in the support of production of The Pacemaker, the general-audience publication of University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (UIHC). It is arranged chronologically by year; each folder pertains to the specific issue for that date. For example, materials used in the production of the February 1990 issue are contained in Box 2. Beginning in 2004, digital files are maintained on CDs, replacing the earlier media formats. The collection, used in conjunction with The Pacemaker publication, chronicles research and patient service activity of UIHC.

Historical Note

The Pacemaker was established in 1974 by the Department of Public Information, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. Its intended audience, according to a 1992 editorial statement, is "friends and staff of the [UIHC]."

Related Materials

The Pacemaker, in University Serials and Journals Collection (RG 01.09.02)

Records of the College of Medicine (RG 15.01)

Records of the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (RG 27.01)

Box Contents List

Box 1

January-December 1989

Box 2

January-June 1990

Box 3

July-December 1990

Box 4

January-June 1991

Box 5

July-December 1991

Box 6

January-June 1992

Box 7

July-December 1992

Box 8

January-June 1993

Box 9

July-December 1993

Box 10

January-June 1994

Box 11

July-December 1994

Box 12

January-June 1995

Box 13

July-December 1995

Box 14

January-June 1996

Box 15

July-December 1996

Box 16

January-June 1997

Box 17

July-December 1997

January-February 1998

Box 18

March-June 1998 (including UIHC centennial)

Box 19

July-December 1998

Box 20

January-June 1999

Box 21

July-December 1999

Box 22

January-June 2000

Box 23

July 2000-Winter 2000-2001

Box 24

Spring-Summer 2001

Box 25

Fall 2001-Winter 2001-2002

Box 26

Spring-Winter 2002

Box 27

Spring-Winter 2003

Box 28

Spring-Winter 2004

Box 29

Spring-Winter 2005

Box 30

Spring-Winter 2006

Box 31

Spring-Winter 2007

Box 32

Spring-Winter 2008 (incomplete)