Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Charles D. Cuttler Papers
RG 99.0001
Collection Dates: 1935-1988
3.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Mr. Cuttler in December 2005.  Finding aid created January 2008.

Photographs: Box 1

Charles D. Cuttler, January 1983

Charles D. Cuttler, January 1983

Scope and Contents

The Charles D. Cuttler papers relate to his professional career as professor of art and art history.  This material includes correspondence, seminar information, department administration records, and material about his work as a consultant to the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Biographical Note

Charles David Cuttler was born April 8, 1913, in Cleveland, Ohio.  He received his B.F.A. degree in 1935 and M.A. in 1937, both from Ohio State University.  In 1952 he received his Ph.D. from the Institute of Fine Arts, New York University.

Cuttler was an assistant art instructor at Ohio State University from 1935 to 1937.  During the summer in 1938 he was an instructor in art history at the University of Colorado.  He worked in Detroit as an engineering designer from 1940 to 1947.  He served as assistant professor of art at Michigan State University from 1947 to 1957.  Dr. Cuttler was assistant professor of art history at Indiana University during the summer in 1952 and 1953.

He joined the faculty of the State University of Iowa in 1957 as associate professor of art history and became full professor in 1965.  He was a co-founder of the Midwest Art History Society in 1973.  He was chairman of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) Art History subcommittee from 1968 through 1977.  He was appointed as consultant to the National Endowment for the Humanities in November 1973 through 1980.  Dr. Cuttler retired in 1983.

Charles D. Cuttler married Mary Cecilia Fuller in December 1941 and had one daughter, Judith Ann.

[D. Anderson; 01/2008] 

Related Materials

Folder, "Cuttler, Charles D. ," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of Lester D. Longman (RG 99.0031)

Records of the School of Art and Art History (RG 06.07)

Box Contents List

Box 1

"The Art of Hieronymus Bosch." Daily Iowan, December 12, 1974

"St. Anthony Abbot, Ireland, and A. Kingsley Porter"

Photographs of Irish art


Thesis draft

New York University, Metropolitan Museum of Art lectures, 1935-1940


---. "The Art of Nicola and Giovanni Pisano," Medieval seminar, 1970

---. "Methodology," 1972

---. "The Drawings of Jan Van Eyck," 1976

---. "A General Bibliography: Rogier Van Der Weyden."  Northern Renaissance seminar, 1978

---. "Northern Renaissance Art: Hieronymus Bosch," 1983

Mid-America College Art Association conference, University of Iowa, 1982

College Art Association of America (CAA), 1986

Midwest Art History Society

---. By-laws, 1973

---. First annual meeting, 1974

---. Newsletter, 1975

Box 2

Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) Art History subcommittee, 1968-1977

Master's degree in Art History at the University of Iowa, requirements, 1968-1969

National Endowment for the Humanities, consultant work, 1973-1980

Professional Policy Committee minutes, 1972-1973

Professional correspondence

---. 1938-1947

---. 1955-1957

---. 1958-1984

---. 1960-1969

---. 1961

---. 1963-1982

---. 1964-1984

---. 1968-1977

---. 1969-1974

---. 1972-1983

---. 1980-1984

Winnipeg Art Gallery program, 1962

Art collection program of Central College, Pella, Iowa, 1966

Reprints, 1965-1970



"Christ-Logos in the Utrecht Psalter," Cuttler's comments

Student papers

---. 1959-1965

---. 1970-1980

Advising materials

Art Department administration, 1979-1980

Syllabi, 1988