Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Mauricio Lasansky
RG99. 0030
Collection Dates: 1934-1945
0.25 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from Professor Gustave von Groschwitz, School of Art and Art History.  Guide created by Denise Anderson, June 2007.

Photographs: Box 1

Mauricio Lasansky, 1963

Mauricio Lasansky, 1963

From cover of SUI Staff Magazine, Summer 1963

Biographical Note

Mauricio Lasansky was born October 12, 1914 in Buenos Aires, Argentina, to parents of Lithuanian ancestry.  His interest in printing was stirred at a young age, because his father made engravings for printing the currency of Argentina.  Young Lasansky began his formal printmaking education at the Escuela Superior de Bellas Artes, and within three years was the director of the Free Fine Arts School in Argentina.  In 1943 he studied at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York under a Guggenheim Fellowship.  The grant was renewed the following year, allowing him to study intaglio printing, a printing process for which he became famous.  In 1945 Lasansky joined the faculty at the University of Iowa School of Fine Arts, where he founded the Iowa Print Group.  Mauricio Lasansky retired as full professor in 1986.

[D. Anderson; 06/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Lasansky, Mauricio" in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the University of Iowa Press (RG 23.07.03) contains photographs of Professor Lasansky's art

Records of the School of Fine Arts (RG 11.01)

Records of the Iowa Print Group (RG 06.07.02)

Newland, Randa Ann. "Twenty-Five Years and the Iowa Print Group." Master's thesis, University of Iowa, 1970.

Box Contents List

Box 1

Slides of prints, 1934-1940

Photographs of prints, 1935-1945

Biography by unknown author