Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Joan Mannheimer Papers
RG 99.0032
Collection Dates: 1974-1984
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Joan Mannheimer in October 1997. Guide created in August 2008.

Photographs: Box 1

Scope and Contents

The Joan Mannheimer papers include correspondence and other research material used in the writing of two enclosed unpublished manuscripts, "River Rebels in the Barracks: Ceramic Education at the University of Iowa, 1952-1969," and "Glenn C. Nelson."  Nelson was an instructor in the  University of Iowa Department of Art during 1954-1955.

Three color photographs regarding potter Tom Mason are enclosed with correspondence to Mannheimer from James McKinnell, who was assistant professor in the UI Department of Art 1963-1968.  Black and white photographs are included of Glenn C. Nelson.

Biographical Note

Joan (Eisenberg) Mannheimer was born January 12, 1927.  She received her B.A. and M.A. degrees from Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1948 and 1966.  She married Robert E. Mannheimer in June 1947 and they had three sons, David, Steven and Robert A.  Her husband, a University of Iowa alumnus, died in February 2007.

In 1964 Ms. Mannheimer worked in community relations for the Children and  Families of Iowa organization.  She was an instructor in sociology at Drake University from 1967-1969.  She contributed articles to Child Welfare, the journal of the Child Welfare League of America.  Ms. Mannheimer developed a program for the Iowa Department of Human Resources designed to utilize volunteer workers and was an active volunteer herself. 

Ms. Mannheimer collected contemporary American ceramics, and donated many pieces to the University of Iowa Museum of Art.  Her collection was exhibited there in 1981, titled "Centering on Contemporary Clay: American Ceramics from the Joan Mannheimer Collection."  She is the recipient of the 1993 Elliott/Stanley Award for Acquisitions for her outstanding contributions to the permanent UIMA ceramics collections.  Her extensive cultural volunteer work included co-founding the Friends Development Council of the University of Iowa Museum of Art and serving on the museum's advisory committee.

[D. Anderson; 08/2008]

Historical Note

The collection includes references to barracks, trailers, Quonset huts, and other temporary structures which were constructed on the University of Iowa campus near the Iowa River after World War II. These buildings were initially constructed for the purpose of housing veterans and married students enrolled at the University, but later also served as class rooms and office space for such programs as the Iowa Writer's Workshop, and as facilities for the ceramics and sculpture studio within the Department of Art.

Related Materials

Papers of Lester D. Longman (RG99.0031)

Records of the School of Art and Art History (RG 06.07)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Manuscript, "River Rebels in the Barracks: Ceramic Education at the University of Iowa, 1952-1969"

Manuscript, "Glenn C. Nelson"

Photographs of Glenn C. Nelson

Correspondence with Glenn C. Nelson

Correspondence with ceramics artists

Vitae of Glenn C. Nelson and other artists

List of graduate students in ceramics