Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Bartholow Crawford Papers
RG 99.0055
Collection Dates: 1909-1945
0.75 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives in February 1973.   Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, September 2007

Photographs: Box 1

University of Iowa Professor Bartholow Crawford, n.d.

Bartholow Crawford, n.d.

Scope and Contents

The Bartholow Crawford papers include three Cornell College yearbooks which he edited as a student or, as a member of the English faculty, advised, along with book reviews and articles.

Biographical Note

Bartholow Vincent Crawford was born in Miles, Iowa, and attended high school and Cornell College in Mt. Vernon, Iowa.  Following his graduation in 1910, Crawford began teaching English at Cornell College.  He received his M.A. from Harvard University in 1913, and then taught in the Rhetoric Department at the University of Minnesota.  He took his Ph.D. at Harvard in 1918, then moved to Houston to teach English at Rice Institute until 1921, when he joined the English Department faculty at the University of Iowa as assistant professor.

At the University of Iowa, Dr. Crawford became full professor in 1937.  He taught courses in American literature and American drama, and for six years during his tenure he broadcast these classes on radio station WSUI.  He also taught a course in American novel.  Crawford married Phyllis Martin Jones in 1934, and the couple had two daughters, Elizabeth and Rachel.  Bartholow Crawford retired from the University of Iowa in 1956, and died January 29, 1968.

[D. Anderson; 09/2007]

Related Materials

Folder, "Crawford, Bartholow," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of Clarence A. Andrews (RG99.0048)

Papers of William Leigh Sowers (RG 99.0073)

Papers of Carrie E. Stanley (RG 99.0074)

Records of the Dept. of English (RG 06.12.01)

Box Contents List

Box 1


---. Royal Purple '10 , Junior Yearbook of Cornell College, 1909

---. Royal Purple, Junior Yearbook of Cornell College, class of 1912

---. Royal Purple, Junior Yearbook of Cornell College, class of 1913

Photograph, Cornell College class of 1910

Box 2

Articles, bibliography, and book reviews by Mr. Crawford, 1930 -1945