Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of B. F. (Tod) Dewel
Collection Dates: 1920-1992
1 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The Papers of B. F. (Tod) Dewel were donated to the University of Iowa Archives by Nellie W. Kremenak in April 2001. Guide posted to the Internet in June 2010.

Photographs: Box 1

B. F. (Tod) Dewel, 1929

B. F. (Tod) Dewel, 1929

College of Dentistry Collection

Scope and Contents

The papers of B. F. (Tod) Dewel document his education in orthodontics and his interest in the history of the College of Dentistry.  The collection includes correspondence, teaching material and alumni lists. About half of the collection consists of course notebooks Dewel made while earning his D.D.S. degree at SUI in the early 1920s.

Biographical Note

Burl Francis Dewel was born in Burt, Iowa, on September 28, 1902, and graduated from Algona High School.  He entered the State University of Iowa College of Dentistry in fall 1920 and received the D.D.S. degree in June 1925.

Dewel worked at SUI as a demonstrator, or teaching assistant, to the head of orthodontics, Dr. J. Elon Rose, from July 1925 through 1929. He began his private practice in orthodontia, which he maintained for fifty years, in Evanston, Illinois, in 1929.  Dewel also taught part time at Northwestern University.  He served on the American Board of Orthodontics and was editor-in-chief of the American Journal Of Orthodontics from 1969 to 1979.  He established the first professorship in Dentistry at the University of Iowa in 1988 with a substantial gift.  B. F. Dewel died on October 6, 1999 in Evanston, Illinois.

Dewel was one of several in his family with ties to the State University of Iowa.  His father, William Cornelius Dewel, graduated from SUI in 1896 and was editor-in-chief of the Hawkeye class annual in 1895.  Later, he was the editor and publisher of the Kossuth County Advance newspaper in Algona.  Dewel's older brother, Duane, later became the editor and owner of the Advance. His youngest brother, Robert, graduated from the SUI College of Dentistry in 1942.

[D. Anderson; 06/2010]

Related Materials

Folder, "Dewel, B. F. (Tod)," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Records of the College of Dentistry (RG 08.1)

Papers of Frederick D. Francis (RG 99.0210)

Dewel, B. F. Midcentury Orthodontics. 1941-1981. [Bound collection of 78 offprints of articles]. Hardin Rare Book RK521.D39.

Kremenak, Nellie W., and Samir E. Bishara. The History of the Department of Orthodontics at the University of Iowa. Iowa City: University of Iowa, 1987.

Box Contents List

Box 1


---. Dental History

---. Dental device, 1987

---. Orthodontic reunion, 1982

Dental history, 1964-1990

"Orthodontics at the University of Iowa in the 1920s: Recollections on an Academic Renaissance."

Teaching materials, 1925-1929.

Student roster, 1926-1927.

Dental alumni lists, 1921-1957.

Event programs

---. Testimonial Banquet in honor of Dr. Frank T. Breene, 1928.

---. Meeting program of the Edward H. Angle Society of Orthodontia, 1936.

Professorship in Dentistry established, 1988-1992.

Correspondence with Nellie W. Kremenak regarding dental history, 1982-1992.

Box 2

Correspondence from Dewel to Office of the Registrar, 1920.

Dewel's dental course schedules, 1920/1921-1924/1925.

Course notebooks

---. Oral Pathology

---. Oral Surgery and Radiology

---. Lectures in prosthetics and various crowns

---. Miscellaneous class schedules; notes and records

---. Anatomy

---. Freshman and sophomore operative technique

---. Lectures in oral therapeutics

---. Lectures in crown and bridge

---. Pedodontics, oral hygiene, jurisprudence, metallurgy