The University Libraries* is seeking nominations for the Arthur Benton University Librarian’s Award for Excellence. The Award celebrates a Libraries’ professional staff member who has demonstrated outstanding commitment and/or leadership in furthering the mission of the Libraries in providing service to the University community.

The $2,000 award, made possible by a generous endowment from Dr. Arthur Benton, Professor Emeritus in the Department of Neurology, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, will support the recipient’s professional development activities or in support of their research projects or publications.

All University Libraries’ professional staff with a minimum of five years of service to the Libraries and with an appointment of 75% FTE or more are eligible. However, those who have won the award previously are not eligible for nomination for the next 5 years.

Download the Benton Award Nomination Form (PDF)

The nomination form and letters are due by 5 PM on Friday, October 27, 2023.

For more information or questions if a library staff member is eligible, contact Kelly Taylor, Libraries’ Administration Office.

*The University Libraries includes the Main Library, Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, and the Art, Business, Engineering, Music, and Science libraries. The Law Library and other campus departmental library staff are not eligible.

Past winners:

  • Mahrya Burnett (2022)
  • Katie Buehner (2021)
  • Pete Balestrieri (2020)
  • Kim Bloedel (2019)
  • Duncan Stewart (2018)
  • Lisa Gardinier (2017)
  • Brett Cloyd (2016)
  • Greg Prickman (2015)
  • Kari Kozak (2014)
  • no award 2013
  • Jen DeBerg (2012)
  • John Forys & Dottie Persson (2010)
  • Edward Miner (2008)
  • Kathy Magarrell (2006)
  • Karen Mason (2004)
  • John Schacht (2002)
  • David Martin (2000)