The University of Iowa Libraries

Skip to content
print page banner

Rita Benton Music Library

Undergraduate, Graduate Students, Merit Staff, Permit Holders

Undergraduate
Books:  4 weeks
Scores:  4 weeks
Audio:  4 weeks, renewals allowed
Video:  4 weeks, renewals allowed
Bound periodicals:  1 week, no renewals (50 cents/day fines)

Graduate Students
Books:  June
Scores:  June
Audio: 4 weeks, renewals allowed
Video:  4 weeks, renewals allowed
Bound periodicals:  1 week, no renewals (50 cens/day fines)

Merit Staff
Books:  4 weeks
Scores:  4 weeks
Audio:  4 weeks, renewals allowed
Video:  4 weeks, renewals allowed
Bound periodicals:  1 week, no renewals (50 cents/day fines)

 

Renewals:

A. Books and scores may be renewed as many times as needed, unless recalled by another patron or for reserve.

B. Books and scores on semester loan must be brought  into the Music Library for renewal, except for post comp students who live more than 60 miles from Iowa City.  These students may send a list (by email or regular post) and must include the barcode number of each book.

Recalls:

A. Any item needed for course reserve will be recalled immediately.  Items requested by another patron may be recalled two weeks after the initial loan period.  Recalled items that are not returned by the requested date will be fined $4.00 per day up to a maximum fine of $40.00.

Charges for fines and lost items (effective 1 July 2007) :

A. Non-Reserves: Fines for audio/video recordings and accompanying supplemental materials are 50 cents per day for each item.  There is a non-refundable fine of $15.00 if the item is so overdue that it is billed.

For books and scores, there is a non-refundable fine of $10.00 if the item becomes billed. At that time the patron will also be charge for the cost of the non-returned item in addition to the $10 fine.

 

Any overdue recalled book carries a fine of $4.00/day with a maximum charge of $40.00.

B. Reserves:  Fines for overdue reserves that circulate on a daily basis (e.g. 3 day, 7 day reserve) are $4.00 per day per item.  Those that circulate on an hourly basis are $2.40 per item per hour (4 cents per minute).  Maximum fine is $40.00.

C. Lost items:  Any lost item should be reported as soon as possible, so that overdue notices and fines accumulations can be stopped.   An item also may be declared lost if, after reasonable notice has been sent, the item is not returned.  An item that is lost and paid for remains the property of the University Libraries and must be returned if found; a credit will then be given for the amount of the bill, minus any applicable overdue fines.

D. The Music Library does not collect money; patrons are billed through the University of Iowa Business Office.

Exceptions

Exceptions to the stated circulation policies may be made when justified by individual circumstances.  Please discuss special needs with the Music Librarian.