The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

East Asian Collection

print page banner

Online Databases

Chinese Collection
  • Zhongguo li dai shi ke shi liao hui bian/中国历代石刻史料汇编(全文检索版)
  • Siku Quanshu (Wenyuange Edition) Internet Version: Access (via IP) to Electronic version of the Wenyuange edition of Siku Quanshu is available on most of the computers in the UI Main Library. UI Faculty who want to gain access (via IP) to it in their campus offices need to download and install a client program on their office computers from http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download (download and installation instructions are provided on the website). The Siku Quanshu features a collection of 3,460 Chinese classical works in 36,000 volumes or 4,700,000 pages, which includes works on philosophy, history, literature and art, political systems, social studies, economics, astronomy and geography, mathematics, medical studies, technology, etc.
  • Diao long: Zhong Ri gu ji quan wen jian shuo shu ji ku 雕龙: 中日古籍全文检索数据库: Diaolong Full-text Database of Chinese and Japanese Ancient Books
  • Chinese Periodical Full-Text Database (1911-1949) 中国近代期刊全文数据库: Covers around 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 20,000 different kinds of periodicals published between 1911 and 1949. As an important part of the historical archive, this database has significant academic and historical value.
  • Shen Bao Digital Archive, 1872-1949 申报全文数据库: Established in 1872, Shen Bao (historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published in Shanghai until 1949, Shen Bao was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, as a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China.
  • China Academic Journals (CAJ): this database is part of the electronic project of the CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure). It covers journal articles published in China in almost all the subject areas of the Humanities and Arts. It includes back files dated back to 1994. In order to display all the PDF files from the database, you need to install the most recent version of Adobe Reader and then install the Chinese simplified language patch.
  • BAS: this on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 545,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (RLIN, OCLC, etc.).
  • China National Knowledge Infrastructure (in Chinese)
  • Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library provided hosted at the Australian National University provides online resources on China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan
  • Databank for China Studies: Universities Service Center of China Studies at the Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • JSTOR (UI access only) provides articles in more than a dozen journals in Asian Studies.
  • Project Muse (UI access only) has about a dozen of journals in Asian Studies.
  • Chinese Histories Full-text Online, provided by Taiwan Academia Sinica.
  • Fuyin Baokan Ziliao Soyin 1978-1998 (A CD-ROM set/Major journals in China, Chinese. Contact Chinese Studies Librarian for usage. UI access only)
  • People’s Daily 1946-1998 (A CD-ROM set/Chinese/Full Text. Contact Chinese Studies Librarian for usage. UI access only)